HISTORY OF ALLINGTON MANOR

Allington Manor is a beautifully restored Grade II Jacobean building that is steeped in history.

The earliest record of the site occupied by Allington Manor is registered in the Domesday Book, although nothing remains of the original dwelling. The oldest section of the present building where the Breakfast Room, bar and cellars are now located, dates back to 1450 when the structure was much smaller, despite the proprietor’s ownership of a third of the land in the village.

The manor house, then known as West Allington Manor, passed to affluent yeoman farmers, the Grants of the larger Danby family in the sixteenth century who went on to acquire Allington Hall and much of the land in the village in the seventeenth century. In 1660 the Grant family added the Dutch gables and the dog leg grand staircase to complete the unique house that stands today. The property only passed through two more generations though before the family fell on hard times and it was first mortgaged and then sold in 1674 to Reverend Thomas Williamson for £841.

Following its sale, the manor house remained with the Williamson family and by marriage, the Welby family for the subsequent two and a half centuries. During this time however, the structure fell into disrepair and was completely uninhabited when it was purchased in 1948 by Mr Palin who saved it from ruin after obtaining a grant to re-roof the building.

The task of restoring the property to its former glory was undertaken by the Vincent family in 1983 who are the present proprietors of the manor house.

enquiries@allingtonmanor.co.uk

"A luxurious step back in time!
This has obviously been a labour of love to convert a loved family home into a special bed and breakfast experience.”

T: +44 (0)1400 282574